The recipients of MTLA's annual awards for excellence were 

announced in Missoula at MTLA's 2017 Annual Convention. 


Trial Lawyer of the Year Award (Video Link)
Michael J. George and Jonathan McDonald

For Outstanding Trial Advocacy

Career Achievement Award  (Video Link)

Greg Munro

For His Enduring Contributions To The Citizens Of Montana

And The Practice Of Law As A Lawyer For People, An Inspiring Teacher,

A Scholar, And A Mentor. For Decades, The Definitive Answer To Any MTLA

Member's Question On Montana Insurance Law Has Been “Call Greg” 


Appellate Advocacy Award  (Video Link)
Mike Meloy

For Outstanding Appellate Advocacy In Asserting Constitutional Rights

Outstanding New Lawyer Award  (Video Link)
Domenic A. Cossi

For Professional Excellence In Trial Practice

And Service To MTLA And Montana's Citizens

Al Smith Public Service Award  (Video Link)

Jonathan Motl

For His Relentless Efforts To Protect
Montana's Voters And Our Electoral Process

Citizens Award  (Video Link)

Katrin Chandler, Betty Lannen, Joseph Miller,
Polly Rex and The Clark Fork Coalition

For Their Tireless Efforts To Protect

Montana’s Precious Water Resources  



Awards Criteria

Previous Award Recipients